• Recent Comments

    Eats Wombats on Mr Bomdastic, Maths is fa…
    j on Number Crunching
    A. of A Changing Lif… on Number Crunching
    A. of A Changing Lif… on Number Crunching
    j on Number Crunching
  • Categories

  • Archives

  • September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug    
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Blog Stats

    • 494 hits

no, it isn’t october yet.

A quick google/bing tells me that Black History Month is in February in the States & Canada. (Date chosen because of Abe Lincoln & Frederick Douglass).  In the UK it’s October. Why there is a difference I don’t (yet) know.  This post over at A Changing Life jogged the memory banks and reminded me of this fella. More here.

As a kid I had was strongly encouraged to put at least half my pocket money into a globe-shaped money box for the Methodist Missionary Society, which, as another quick search reveals,  is still up & running, though it’s aims have changed somewhat over the years. This may have something to do with The Poisonwood Bible being one of my all time favourite books. There are other reasons too, but that will be a password protected post once I’ve learned how to do it.

Unison’s offering from October 2006 is a good lightweight starting point for anyone interested in the subject.

It’s something I find fascinating. History at school consisted of lists of dates, usually of battles, with very little emphasis on analysing trends, though thankfully I missed out on having to recite the dates of the monarchy by rote. I have a mug for that! (picture to follow once i’ve worked out how to do that, too. Technonumpty strikes agaon!)

What piques my interest are the human stories, of people breaking the mould and starting off trends that they could never imagine in their life-time, that change the way we look at ourselves, and perceive others.

TTFN

5 Responses

  1. Well, this old badger certainly heard of Ms.Seacole. The Poisonwood Bible is on my read-someday list. One for you which I think has some connections is How Mumbo Jumbo Conquered the World by Francis Wheen. It kept me amused from one end of a long plane trip to the other recently. It’s a slow burn to begin but well worth a read.

  2. Thanks for thetip Wombats. How’s Phillip?

  3. The Poisonwood Bible is one of my all time favourites too. I’m not good at re-reading but this is one I intend to get out again. I’d never heard of Arthur Wharton, I have to admit. I’d be hard pushed to name any footballers though.

Leave a Reply

